Local Elections end in Russia

Local Elections end in Russia

Photo: https://crimea-news.com/

The day before the local elections, which took place from September 9 to 11, ended in Russia. This year it was decided to hold them in such a format so that voters had more opportunities and time to take part in the vote, stating their preferences.

The authorities of 12 subjects of the Russian Federation, including Moscow, Penza, Novgorod and Ryazan Regions, and Krasnodar Territory, decided to increase the number of election days to three. In North Ossetia, Kirov and Tomsk Regions, the elections lasted two days. As regards the election of deputies to city councils, the regional centers have acquired them in 12 territorial subjects such as Omsk, Pskov, Kirov, Tver, Cherkessk, and a number of other Russian cities. In addition, municipal elections were held in five urban districts.

Candidates from 22 parties participated in this election campaign. The United Russia, Communists, members of A Just Russia and the LDPR ran for local legislative assemblies. The Yabloko party nominated its representatives in 12 regions. It should be noted that in municipal elections, United Russia had the most registered candidates (1,261.) A total of 1,500 candidates took part in the election of deputies to municipal assemblies. It is worth noting that municipal elections this year were held only in two capital cities, Moscow in 125 out of 146 districts and Saint Petersburg where only a few districts by-elections were held.

It should be reminded that there was also remote electronic voting which is gradually becoming a part of the lives of Russian citizens. Voters in eight Russian regions such as Tomsk, Pskov, Kaliningrad, Kaluga, Novgorod, Kursk, and Yaroslavl regions, as well as Moscow, took part in this election. It was with the help of the remote electronic voting that Russian President Vladimir Putin, Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin and Deputy Chairman of the Russian Security Council Dmitry Medvedev took part in the Moscow elections on Saturday. It should be noted that the system of remote electronic voting was attacked by hackers all three days, but the new protection infrastructure based on Russian network equipment worked stably and no technical failures occurred.

In addition, at the last elections in Moscow an electronic voters’ list was used for the first time. This innovation allows to avoid human errors during data entry and to reduce the load on the members of election commissions. Also the video surveillance system was used in the places where the elections took place. Cameras were installed at 25,000 voting places.

The elections were monitored by more than 51,000 public watchdogs. Meanwhile, there were no foreign observers during the elections. Overall, according to head of the CEC Ella Pamfilova, the current election campaign over the past ten years has turned out to be “the most calm, competitive and lively.” The CEC recommended summing up the final results of the election on September 14.

Thirteen winners of the gubernatorial elections were announced during a single day of voting. Alexei Tsydenov won the elections in the Republic of Buryatia (86.23%). In the Vladimir Region, Acting Governor Alexander Avdeev became the winner (83.68%). In the Kaliningrad Region, incumbent regional governor Anton Alikhanov took the first place (80.21%). In the Republic of Karelia, Governor Artur Parfenchikov won the vote (69.15%). The region's acting head, Alexander Sokolov, won in the Kirov Region (71.85%).

The self-nominated Yuri Zaitsev, the acting head of the Republic of Mari El, took the first place (82.44%). The following candidates won the election:

- Incumbent governor Andrei Nikitin in the Novgorod Region (77.03%);

- Acting Governor Pavel Malkov in the Ryazan Region (84.55%);

- Incumbent Governor Yevgeny Kuyvashev in the Sverdlovsk Region (65.78%);

- The region's acting head Maksim Egorov in the Tambov Region (84.95%);

- the region's acting head Vladimir Mazur in the Tomsk Region (84.94%);

- The head of the region, Alexander Brechalov in the Republic of Udmurtia (64.37%);

- Governor Mikhail Evraev in the Yaroslavl Region (82.31%);

- The region's acting head Roman Busargin in the Saratov Region (72.55%).

It should be noted that 14 governors, deputies of six legislative assemblies and city councils, and heads of 12 administrative centers were elected by direct vote.

Situation at Zaporizhzhya Nuclear Power Plant is Unacceptable but Guilty Party to be Held in Confidence - IAEA Report Liz Truss to Freeze Energy Price cap